Jack has been on the move for a while now, but as his mobility is reaching new heights, so is his curiosity.

Maybe this is wrong of me, but I just don’t want to be one of those moms that completely “baby-proofs” my house. I have moved the coffee table out of our living room, but that was partly because of the head-bumping hazard, and partly because it had become a catch-all spot in our house whose only use was for old mail and random papers and magazines. In other words it was just a mess and is not missed. However, I have not put away all of our DVD’s, moved my plants, or cleared off all of the candles, picture frames, and vases on the display stand that also resides in our living room.

Is that bad?

I just feel like Jack should learn the value of the word “no” and learn that in life there are boundaries; things you can do, and things you can’t. Just putting everything away so that I never have to deal with it seems like an easy out to me.

Do you think I’m crazy?

I dunno, maybe I am, because today has been one of those “No, no, no!” kinda days. It is taking a lot of restraint to not grab that heavy glass candle out of his hands and put it up on the mantle out of his reach. But I haven’t…not yet anyway. I just say “No, no, no, Jack Jack. That’s not a toy. [This] is a toy. Let’s play with [this] instead.”

I’m hoping this parenting technique pays off. I haven’t read this in a book. I’m just going with my gut here.

We’ll see.

While we’re on the subject, I’ll give a few more Jack Stats for those that are curious.

About four days ago, Jack took his first official steps! Eight of them to be exact. Four at two different times. I think he would have taken more if we wouldn’t have been screaming in excitement and scared him. Since then he has taken two here, two there, but nothing like he did the first time, though my parents said he took about four more at their house while I was up at North Point on Tuesday. I think he gets the fact that he is going to walk around like us one day, but the past few days it seems like he is just not interested. He will balance and take one step and then just sit down and crawl…kinda like he is thinking, “Ehh, this is just a lot easier and faster.”

With the rise in mobility, there has been a drop in wave-ability. Haha! Waving 50% of the time you ask him has dropped to a staggering 0%. He just claps instead. Oh well. Someday. So if you come for a visit and when you leave and he is asked to wave bye-bye, he claps instead, I promise it’s not because he is glad to see you go.

Last Jack Jack fact is his disinterest in eating the past week. So weird! He usually loves to eat! Eats me out of house and home. However, as of late he’s just not hungry I guess. He gets antsy in his chair, disinterested and easily distracted from his bottle… I know that all babies go through stages, so I’m not concerned. He is right on track (if not ahead) in the growing department. I’m sure next week he will be back to eating anything and everything.

That’s all that’s new in the Elrod house today! So here’s to growing baby boys and “No, no, no”.

With love, Malorie

