Waahoo! Our new floors are installed! Pictures to come.

Yes, that’s right. We now have fresh, new, CLEAN hardwood (laminate) flooring in our house! I am loving it. And I am loving my new Swiffer.

Elizabeth, however, is not loving it. I dunno if it was the three days of random people coming and going, along with all of the banging and hammering and general loud-noise-making that has freaked her out…but she’s totally freaked out. Back to kitten Elizabeth that jumps at the sound of a whisper and jets out of the room when someone stands up unannounced.

That girl’s got issues.

And then…she peed on our bed. UGH! I thought we cured that problem when we got rid of George!!!

I think she was too scared to walk to her litter box…she thought someone was gonna jump out at her with a piece of quarter-round, I guess…so she just peed on our bed and tried to squish the comforter up around it to “bury” it.

If I didn’t love her and understand her mental state from early kittenhood abuse, I would have killed her then and there. Back to the cleaners that darn duvet has to go again. Man. We need frequent flier points for that thing. We would definitely have a free dry-clean by now.

In other news. Jack and I have been having a blast this morning. He is not at all freaked out about the floors and is just playing and moving around as usual. Lately he has been wanting to crawl under our dining room table. This morning he crawled under there and pulled up on one of the chairs. His little head bumped up against the underside of the table and he just giggled and giggled.

So I thought, “Lets make this even more fun!”

I grabbed a blanket and threw it over the table and we made his first ever fort! He loved it. He would crawl in and out and just laugh and laugh. I would put his Peter Pan that he had been carrying around with him on the outside of the fort and then lift the blanket so Jack could see him and say “Boop!”. He thought that was funny too.

Next, he helped me change the sheet on his bed. After we got it on (or rather, after I wrestled it on in between Jack pulling and climbing on it) we climbed up on the mattress. The sheet I put on had primary-colored stars all over it, so we looked at all of those and picked out the red ones and sang Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. He was so funny crawling on it, because he doesn’t get the concept of the edge of the mattress. He would just crawl right over the edge and plant palms-and-face-first down on the ground. He didn’t care. He would just get up and crawl back on top.

He’s napping now and I am getting some housework done and getting some “Mommy-time” to boot.

Need it.

I love Proverbs 31, The Wife of Noble Character, so I have decided that for the next 21 weeks I am going to break down each of the verses and take them to heart. I’m starting today and I’m kind of excited.

Proverbs 31:10

A wife of noble character who can find?

She is worth far more than rubies.

Oooo...sparkley...

Usually I depend on Tim so much for that “good-wife affirmation”. I want him to notice that all of the laundry is done and he never has to wonder if he has clean underwear, or that the floors are mopped, or Jack is fed and bathed. This week I am going to reflect on this verse and know that even if Tim doesn’t always notice and say, “Thank you, babe! You are worth more than rubies to me!” (Yeah, he’s never said that one. But that would be kind of cheesy, I guess.) I know that God sees me, and sings that over me everyday.

The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing. Zephaniah 2:17

When I am a good wife, I know that my worth is far above rubies. This week, I’m going to take that to heart.

With love, Malorie

