She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands.

Proverbs 31:13

Wool and flax are fibers used to make linens and clothing. Wool has many useful qualities, such as retaining heat to keep you warm, and retaining water to keep you dry. There are different kinds of flax fibers, but softer ones can be used in making clothing and household items that are more durable than those made of cotton, while the more coarse fibers are useful for making rope or twine. Either way, these are two useful natural resources, given to us by God that a woman of God used to make items for her family. Items to assist and sustain them, and she worked with eager hands. 

For some reason that reminds me of the Loretta Lynn song, Coal Miner’s Daughter.

Daddy loved and raised eight kids on a miner’s pay

Mama scubbed our clothes on a warshboard ev’rday

Why I’ve seen her fangers bleed, to complain, thur was no need

She’d smile in Mommy’s unnerstandin’ way

I bet Loretta Lynn would tell you that her Mama was an example of a Proverbs 31 wife. As wives and mothers, we need to put our family and their needs first. We do what we’ve got to do, and when it gets hard, we say a little prayer, know our big God is there to help, and push on through.

I am really having to work on that because boy is this verse screaming at me this week.

I have been soooo tired lately, (Yes, that is more foreshadowing.) so when Jack is taking a nap, that is exactly what I want to do. The last thing I want to do is wash dishes or start a load of laundry, or worse, mop my floors!

Ugh. I’m exhausted just writing this.

But this week, and on into the next few weeks, I am really going to try to push through and do what I need to do for my family. I’m thinking and praying on this verse this week. I will welcome any prayers you have for me, as well…because MAN AM I TIRED!

[sigh.]

Okay, I’m going to bed now.

With love, Malorie

