She gets up while it is still dark; she provides food for her family and portions for her servant girls. Proverbs 31:15

The past couple of weeks I have been doing my Proverbs reflections right after finishing my Acts Bible study that we are doing in our small group. I have been really enjoying it that way, because the Acts study is so deep (it usually takes me a little over an hour to complete it) but it really sets my mind on God and invites the Holy Spirit in, so that when I come to my Proverbs verse for the week, I feel a lot of discernment in translating it to my life. It’s amazing how God will show himself to us if we just give Him the time and opportunity. True I get little done, domestically speaking, during Jack’s first nap, but I feel I do wonders for my soul. Here is what I have observed in this week’s verse. 

Obviously, a Wife of Noble Character needs to be a good steward of her time. If she has much to accomplish, she needs to get up early to ensure all her duties are done. She helps to ensure that her family is well equipped to accomplish their daily tasks, as well, by providing them with the necessary nourishment they need to start their day. She does the same for her servant girls, or in this day in time, those she works with throughout the day. Providing for her servants (or as I see it; co-workers, babysitters, nannies, family/friends that assist her daily or weekly) also exerts a sort of thankfulness towards them. She is grateful for their assistance, and thus, makes sure to take good care of them to keep them happy.

I feel really good about this verse and I feel God is applying it within me, because this morning I actually did get up and start my day before Jack and Tim. It’s kind of ironic to me, because I had no idea this was going to be the verse of the week. I by no means got up before the sun (it was 8am when I got out of bed) but Jack usually sleeps until 8:30, 8:45, and usually Tim and I sleep just as long. But for some reason, even after taking a Benedryl for allergies last night which usually resorts in a “hangover” the next day, I was wide awake at about 8am on the dot. We always host our small group on Monday nights, so Mondays are usually tidy-up-the-weekly-clutter days, and in addition I knew I had a sink full of last night’s dishes (yes, I too am lazy) and a pile of laundry from a weekend away at Grandma and Grandaddy’s house.

So, I just got up.

By the time Jack got up I had started a load of laundry, cleaned the kitchen, washed bottles, and fed that poor, starved, fat cat. (With the way she whines for food, you would think Elizabeth never ate a day in her life…yet everyone that enters our home usually exclaims, “Look at that fat cat!” We just say she’s extra fluffy with unsatisfied “birthin’ hips”.)

It was cool though. It was kind of like God was preparing me for what he was going to tell me today. “I can sustain you and provide you with what you need to be a Wife of Noble Character. Yes, it can be strenuous and, at times, hard, but I am the one who called you to such a position in life and I am the one who will carry you through it.”

Let’s just say I am super thankful today for my great big God.

Makes you look at being a “plain old housewife” a whole new way, doesn’t it?

With love, Malorie

