Good morning!

And I do so sincerely hope you are having a good morning.

I, myself, am having a bit of a queasy morning, but Jack is down for a nap, dinner is cooking in the crock pot, and I’ve got a bubbly drink beside me. So I’m making it.

Lots of fun stuff going on in my world today.

1. I’m trying a new crock pot BBQ chicken recipe. And let me tell you, crock pot cooking is my kinda cooking. I love to just set it, “And forget it!” and then have a tasty dinner this evening. About a week ago I made loaded baked potato soup in the crock pot. So easy. So good.

2. Jack’s birthday is coming up and I am soooo excited about all that I have planned for his party. It is going to be super small (Grandparents and Great-Grandparents only, please), but I am still planning the party to be pretty spectacular. I just didn’t want a big crowd. Every baby magazine I’ve read says “Keep it small! Keep it short!” because that is about all that a one year old can handle. I’m taking that to heart. Tim and I both have large families. Just to give you an idea, if we invited all of our aunts, uncles, and cousins along with the Grands and Great-Grands, we’d be hosting a party of about sixty-six. Yikes! And then if we were to invite friends??

Keep in mind we live in a cozy home of about 1300 square feet.

Plus, Jack won’t remember it. Plus, Jack doesn’t “know” and recognize all of those people. His favorite people in his world right now are definitely Tim and I, and his Grands. So we’re just keeping it at that. However, I plan to decorate it up super cute, have good food and snacks, cupcakes, and the best party favors since I only need a few to hand out! I can’t wait until it all comes together so I can tell you about it!

3. We got more (yes, MORE) new furniture!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We’ve been wanting/needing a china cabinet for quite a while now. My MeMama gave me her china set about a year ago, and since then it has been shut up in tupperware containers in our back bedroom. Everytime I wanted to use it I would have to go fish it out, and then when I was done, pack it all back up. A pain. It’s so pretty I really wanted a place to display it, but we couldn’t find anything that was our taste, well made, and reasonably priced. Until…we found the antique shop about 5 miles from our house! We were so excited. We also got these two matching pieces to go with it.

A little buffet-type table for the dinning room. I can’t wait to put snacks and cupcakes on it for Jack’s party!

And this small hutch piece that we are using as pantry storage in our kitchen! Much needed. Much loved.

If you look closely at the china cabinet (although I don’t know if you can tell in the pictures I took) the glass pane is slightly off kilter. Crooked, you might say. But not in a bad way. It is incredibly well made and it functions properly. But it just has a curious little tilt that makes you wonder if you are just looking at it funny. Tim and I like it. It matches our crooked cabinet doors in the kitchen and our crooked light-switch covers throughout the house…I guess we just live in a crooked little house. But we love it. It is not-so-slowly becoming everything we ever hoped for.

Anne would probably say it’s not-so-slowly becoming our “House of Dreams.”

And indeed it is.

With love, Malorie

