Jack got a boo-boo today.

Like, a real boo-boo.

He has fallen before. He has busted his lip before. He has even shed some blood before.

But this was a boo-boo.

It was getting close to lunch time, and therefore, naptime. Maybe he was tired and wobbly? I don’t know. I didn’t see it happen even though he was just a couple of feet from me, but he fell and hit his chin on our coffee table and then toppled backward and hit his head on the floor.

Hysterics ensued.

At first I didn’t see the cut on his chin, but after a few minutes of not settling down, I saw the blood.

My poor, poor bubs.

But Nurse Mommy kicked in. I got a cool rag and cleaned it off, though chewing on the rag was what soothed him most. Then I took him back to our room, since the meds are in our bathroom, and laid him down on the bed. I gave him my prenatal vitamin bottle to distract (new things always distract) and put a little Neosporin on the cut and covered it with a Toy Story band-aid. To my surprise he didn’t even act like he knew it was there.

He was good from then on. What a sport.

Doesn’t he look like his Daddy in this picture??

I may have a boo-boo, but I don’t care.

I’m a happy boy!!

Even though this boo-boo had a relatively quick fix and recovery, I know that not every boo-boo will. I just pray protection over his little body. I really don’t want to have to deal with a broken bone one day. I’m not sure that Nurse Mommy will be able to keep such a cool head in that situation.

Here’s to being a Mommy! Which in turn means being a sustainer, teacher, comforter, nurse, and so. much. more.

With love, Malorie

