[sigh] I’m tired.

I tried laying down for a nap after church but probably only slept 2o minutes or so before my hubby got home and came in the room talking about cupcakes and the Braves game. So, here I am. Sitting in bed with Tim as he watches the Braves game.

And yes, we both ate a leftover cupcake from Jack’s party.

We had a really great time at Jack’s party yesterday! And as promised, I’ll tell ya all about it.

I had sent out the invites before he had transitioned into his one-nap-a-day mode, so I had the time at 1:00 p.m.

Yikes.

Worked great for then, but now he naps from about 12:30-3:30. Our solution: wake him up early, tucker him out.

So that’s what we did. We got him out of bed at 7:30 a.m. (yes, that’s an hour early for him) and we played and ran around the house until about 9:45. As soon as I saw the first sign of crankiness I rushed to make a bottle (which he gets very few of these days, so I knew he would view it as a nice little treat), rocked him as he drank it, and he was out!

Praise be!!

He slept all the way until 12:15! Lucky me.

And double lucky me, I had already done all of the decorating Friday, so I had very little to do on Saturday.

We served pizza, of course! This was taken before the pizza arrived.

Famous friends were in attendance.

We also caught quite a few army men around the house on mission to find out what Jack got for his birthday. But they didn’t have much to worry about it. He got mostly clothes and books…just the way Mommy likes it.

The party went so smoothly and methodically and lasted about an hour 10 minutes. Can you say one-year-old perfection?

First, we ate. Jack had his healthy lunch at 12:30 before everyone arrived, and the rest of us ate at 1:00. Pizza and mixed fruit with Jack-friendly side snacks of Whales and Animal Crackers comprised the menu.

MeMama shared her watermelon with Jack. She even shared her coffee with him later on and I about had a heart attack.

Next, we did presents since I knew he’d get messy eating cake. He did so well! He enjoyed opening them, and he really enjoyed what was inside of them. I was pleasantly surprised by his attention span…but then again, he usually proves us wrong when we assume the worst.

It was finally time for cake! His favorite part of it all was having everyone sing Happy Birthday to him. He just smiled and looked back at everyone. The cake…he could take it or leave it. If I had made the cake out of broccoli and peas he would have devoured the whole thing. Ah well…turning down sugar is a sign of a healthy boy, if you ask me.

And speaking of cake! We ordered the cake from a wonderful woman from our church! She charged us a very resaonable price for 24 cupcakes, which is all we were originally going to have. However, she made Jack a smash cake as an added little bonus and surprise! So sweet! And seriously, guys. Ask anyone that came to the party. The. Best. Cupcakes! How does she make them so moist and delicious!?!

Even though he didn’t dive in to the cake, he did get icing everywhere. So we stripped off our Buzz and Woody garb and went shirtless for a bit.

Last but not least we sat everyone down in the living room to show them the project Tim and I had been working on for a few days.

Jack loved seeing himself on the TV.

Let me tell you. I got in a two day fist-fight with iMovie, but it was totally worth it. Everyone loved our slideshow/movie, and they each took a copy home as a favor along with a Polaroid picture of themselves with Jack.

So fun. And even though the quality is definitely not up to today’s standards, there is just something about a Polaroid picture.

It was such a perfect day.

June 11th, 2010: My due date. Jack came 3 days later.

June 11th, 2011: We celebrated the best year of our lives.

With love, Malorie