Finally, FINALLY I am getting around to posting about my birthday weekend. I have been meaning to for some time, but I have been busy or just too plain tired to do it.

Well, today’s the day.

Well…in a minute. Tim just asked me to run Jack a bath. In the words of your favorite 15-year-old, “brb!”

Okay…Jack’s been bathed, diapered, jammied, prayed over, and put to bed.

[Big breath in…and out.]

So this week was my birthday! Or rather, my birthday was this week! June 30th, to be exact.

It fell on a Thursday this year, so I figured we’d do nothing special. We usually just do “nothing special” on my birthday, and I’m okay with that. I never know what I want, so something small and dinner with the people I love most is what usually comprises the anniversary of the day on which I was born.

This year was a little different to say the least.

My parents had already given me their birthday surprise that Sunday before, and my mother and brother-in-law had come the night before bearing a Target gift card and an iced grande soy chai from Starbucks (my kinda present!), so really the only thing I expected on “the big day” was some love from my loves. Jack and Tim. 🙂

Little did I know that Tim had more than a little love on his mind.

Okay, that sounded scandalous. Let me explain.

On the morning of the 30th, Tim woke me up and presented me with three cards. One from him that obtained sweet words and some fun money! The other was from Jack and it sang the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse “Hotdog Song” when you opened it. Appropriate. The third was marked, “Do not open until 3:00 p.m.”

Ooo…exciting!

Tim traipsed off to work, and my mom (who had amazingly gotten the off of work!), my sister, and my cousin Madison came to visit. We did a little window shopping and hung out at the house. My mom even painted my toenails for me! (White with Peter Pan decals, of course.) Tim arrived home early around 2:45 p.m. and told me it was okay to go ahead and open the third card just a little early. Inside the card said, “I can keep a secret, too. Look under your side of the bed.” Under my side of the bed was a Mickey Mouse hobo-bag type purse and a note that said, “Pack your bags for one night away!”

About ten minutes later my mother-in-law and brother-in-law showed up stating that they were going to watch Jack Jack for the night, and because he knows me so well, Tim had already written out Jack’s food and sleep schedule with any extra instructions for them. He’s so amazing.

Within the hour we had both packed our bags and hit the road headed for…somewhere. After a very short drive we arrived in Senoia and pulled up to the Veranda Inn Bed and Breakfast.

I was so excited because I had never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast!

We checked in, took a tour of the house, settled into our room and freshened up for dinner. Tim had made reservations at Founders, a nice restaurant within walking distance of the Inn. Oh, and it was so good!

Of course we had bread.

Tim had the catfish with fried okra and some killer mac ‘n cheese.

I had the spinach and artichoke ravioli in a white wine cream sauce. Slap yo mama! That was some kickin’ cream sauce. Tim and I both flipped out over it.

Our waiter was pretty stellar himself. We definitely want to go back to Founders, and we will definitely ask for our waiter, Chris, again.

After dinner, we strolled back to the Inn and decided coffee sounded nice, so we saddled up old Altimama (our nickname for our old, dented Nissan Altima) and headed to Starbucks where we ordered a decaf french press. We sat on the patio and drank a couple of cups of coffee each. We talked and we didn’t talk, and even though we were still in PTC we didn’t run into any people we knew, so it was nice and we still felt secluded. Just the two of us, enjoying each other’s company.

After our coffee-coma we went back to the Inn and, since there was no t.v. or internet, spent even MORE time together! It. Was. Heaven. For. Me. I love my husband. And my husband loves me. But he’s a techie. He loves his t.v. and internet. But on my birthday, he made it all about me and I appreciated that. We played checkers and talked…he even let me read my book. It was just wonderful.

The next moring we got up around 8:30 and got dressed. Breakfast was served at 9:00 a.m. at the Inn and we didn’t want to miss it! Ohh it was sooo good! I ate so much food. So much food that I might have felt a little sick afterward. But it was worth it.

First course was vanilla yogurt with bananas and strawberries, fresh fruit, and french toast.

Second course was eggs, bacon, ham, grits, balsamic potatoes, a sliced tomato topped with cheese and mushrooms, and a fluffy homemade biscuit.

Third course was none other than peach cobbler.

After breakfast we checked out of the Veranda, telling Laura, the owner, that we would be sure to return! We strolled around the town a little bit, walking in a few antique shops. That’s when the nausea kicked in for me. It was probably a combo of over eating, July southern heat, and being pregnant. We decided to just head on back to the house since we were both having Jack-withdrawls anyway.

The best part, we were only about ten minutes from home!

When we got home Jack was happy to see us, and Tim and I happy to see him. We both love that little boy to pieces, but it was so nice to get away, even if just for one night, and remind ourselves how much we love each other. The reason we got married is each other. Sometimes with job promotions, home renovations, vacation dreams, and a growing family, we forget that the reason that we do all that we do is because two people fell in love and decied to live their lives as one instead of two.

Those two people were US. Tim and Malorie.

I’m so thankful that Tim reminded me of that on my birthday. It made turning a quarter of a century the best birthday yet!

Here’s to 25 more years of love, health, and happiness! Aaand probably more of that ravioli from Founders…

With love, Malorie

