Rugalicious. Definition. Make that room look loco.

Yeah. I just had a Fergie moment about my day. Embarrassing, I know.

In case you haven’t guessed, we bought a rug today for our living room! We’ve been wanting one since…well since we put the wood floors down, but we never found one that we loved. And when we did…it was mucho dinero. However, today we ventured to Target for a routine diapers ‘n wipes run, unbeknownst to us that we would be purchasing a rug. We’ve had our eye on this one for a while. Today, it was on sale!

It’s a 7 x 10, cozy, cream-colored shag. Love.

We didn’t want anything patterned or busy. We have enough patterns in our decor and I don’t like the idea of drawing the eye to the floor. Our house feels small enough already, we don’t need something else to close it in. That is why we wanted this rug. We also love the shag because it is soft and comfy and something we actually want to get down and play with our kids on. Plus, I like the texture it brings to the room. A cotton couch, burlap-esk chair, shag rug, smooth hardwoods…it’s all about mixing textures!

Yes, I watch too much HGTV and Bravo. (ps. I’m loving the new season of Flipping Out)

Okay, back to the rug.

Don’t mind the clutter in this picture. I didn’t stage my living room for this one. Heh.

Lastly, we bought a smaller version of the same rug for the front door. The rug that was there is now back in the kitchen from whence it came.

Needless to say, I’m happy with our purchase, but now I am in the mood to do more home projects. We are still looking for that perfect fabric for our curtains in the dining room, and I am going to Rockin’ B tomorrow to browse and hopefully bring home a frame or mirror to make that chalkboard I want!

Oh the joys of making a house a home.

With love, Malorie

