Wednesday, August 24: Wear a closet orphan

It’s Wednesday and I’m back in the game!

The challenge defined a “closet orphan” as an item that has been long since forgotten, unworn, and unloved. Lucky for me, I rummaged through my closet two days in a row; cleaning things out, defining the orphans, and then deciding if they were keepers or on their way to the adoption agency (a.k.a. Goodwill).

Along the way I found this little guy. The navy suit vest.

Years and years ago my Nanny bought me some three piece suits. They were nice back then, but now they are a bit dated and honestly, I have no use for them, seeing how I am now a soon-to-be stay-at-home Mommy of two/very part-time actor. However, after trying on this navy, pinstripe, suit vest, I realized that this piece could still work for me! LB concurred and I celebrated like the father of the prodigal!

“What once was lost now is found!”

Little Orphan Navy Vest was spared, and today he is paired with a lavender Banana Republic tank and my Pea in the Pod maternity jeans.

Don’t ya just love the juxtaposition of a mid-20’s Mommy, dramatically posing in her messy, one-year-old inhabited living room?

Yeah…that’s what I thought.

And just so you know…the lighting was all wrong in the first shot I took, but it totally inspired a Michael Jackson moment in me.

“Ow!”

[Cue intro to Smooth Criminal]

Ohh, M.J…R.I.P. you crazy talented, slightly unhinged, man.

With love, Malorie

P.S. Aunt Barbara, if you are reading this, get the Michael Jackson Wii game ready; I’m on my way over with coffee for stamina, and candle sticks for mics.

