A few weeks ago I finally caught up with the times and finished the book The Help. Have you read it? It was enjoyable, indeed, and I recommend it if you haven’t.

In a quick review, I was, of course, swept away in the plot line, although I found reading from the perspective of Aibileen and Minnie a bit difficult, since they would use words like “a” in place of “of”. The slang slowed me a bit, if you will. However, by the middle of the novel I found myself looking forward to Minnie’s narration becuase I was most interested in her plot-line with Celia, and I loved her witty, biting tongue. Oh, and let’s not forget the laughs of her “Terrible Awful” deed! By the end of the novel, I would actually become bored with the narrations of Skeeter, even though they were the meat of the material. However, it was an engaging page-turner, with a great message and feel-good ending, that I will probably read again at some point.

This just in: I have still not seen the movie.

GASP!

I’ll probably just Redbox it once it comes out. We’ve cancelled our Netflix account, along with about half the universe, due to their “mo’ money, less product” promotion.

Just tonight I dusted off a quick read of Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator. I told you that I read anything and everything. Yes, this is a ridiculously easy and quick read, but it was enjoyable, nonetheless.

I wanted to take some reading material with me to my glucose appointment last week, so that I would have something to do. My initial pick was a re-read of Cold Sassy Tree (oh, a lasting beloved!), but alas I could not find it as I was dashing out the door. Maybe I have loaned it out and don’t remember? It is nowhere to be found. If you have it, and you are quite done with it, would you mind returning it? As a spur-of-the-moment grab, I reached for Charlie and Great Glass Elevator, a paperback I bought out of a dollar section some time ago, but have yet to ever read.

I like to read children’s novels every now and then. They are refreshing, easy, and often spirit-lifting. I also like to find which ones I like and can see myself sharing with my kids as they get older. I have very fond memories of spending summers with my Aunt V. and taking weekly trips to the library to pick out books. She would help me to pick out few a children’s novels and we would read a few chapters aloud together each day. I adored it, and I look forward to reading with my kids that same way.

Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator is the sequel to Charlie and Chocolate Factory, written by Roald Dahl. It only took a couple of times sitting down to fly through this silly book, but I enjoyed it. It was full of space travel, Vermicious Knids, Gnoolies, and overdoses of Wonka-Vite. Also, somewhere in the middle there was a little poem about the President of the United States, who in the novel just happens to be none other than Lancelot R. Gilligrass. The poem made me giggle though, being a registered voter, myself. In making light of how politics in this country are conducted, I thought I would share it with you.

The Nurse’s Song

~

This mighty man of whom I sing,

The greatest of them all,

Was once a teeny little thing,

Just eighteen inches tall.

~

I knew him as a tiny tot,

I nursed him on my knee.

I used to sit him on the pot

And wait for him to wee.

~

I always washed between his toes,

And cut his little nails.

I brushed his hair and wiped his nose

And weighed him on the scales.

~

Through happy childhood days he strayed,

As all nice children should.

I smacked him when he disobeyed,

And stopped when he was good.

~

It soon began to dawn on me

He wasn’t very bright,

Because when he was twenty-three

He couldn’t read or write.

~

“What shall we do?” his parents sob.

“The boy has got the vapors!

He couldn’t even get a job

Delivering the papers!”

~

“Ah-ha!” I said, “This little clot

Could be a politician.”

“Nanny!” he cried, “Oh Nanny, what

A super proposition!”

~

“Okay,” I said, “Let learn and note

The art of politics.

Let’s teach you how to miss the boat

And how to drop some bricks,

And how to win the people’s vote

And lots of other tricks.

~

Let’s learn to make a speech a day

Upon the T.V. screen,

In which you never never say

Exactly what you mean.

And most important, by the way,

 Is not to let your teeth decay,

 And keep your fingers clean.”

~

And now that I am eighty-nine,

It’s too late to repent.

 The fault was mine the little swine

Became the President.

Tee hee hee.

Up next? A themed read; Halloween Party by Agatha Christie!

[Insert shrill scream sound effect here]

With love, Malorie

