Last Friday I finished Hallowe’en Party by Agatha Christie. I actually kind of loved it and would love to read another.

This was the second Christie novel I’ve ever read. The other I read was a stand-alone novel she wrote entitled And Then There Were None. I read it as required reading in High School and loved it. No one could figure out the ending. No one even guessed right. Christie had to literally lay it all out for you in the epilogue for you to put all of the pieces together.

Hallowe’en Party was a bit different in that it is in her Hercule Poirot series. She has written so many novels starring this crime-solving, patten-leather-shoe-wearing, Belgian detective, that if I read one a year I would be sixty-one years old by the time I read them all! Ha! However, I have enjoyed her writing so much that part of me just wants to go ahead and put reading every one of her works on my bucket list.

The plot line was intriguing. While preparing for a teenage Hallowe’en Party, thirteen-year-old Joyce brags to those helping that she witnessed a real murder in the past. No one believes her, and in fact, they mock her and her attention hungry statement, because she has had a history of stretching truths and making up terrific stories in order to impress her peers. However, when she is found later that evening after the party, drowned in the water bucket of bobbing apples, you are left wondering whether Joyce may, for the first time in her life, have been telling the truth.

Hercule Poirot is called to the scene to start his own investigation of the case along side of the police. He is convinced that Joyce was telling the truth and that the murderer was there during the party preparations listening to her tall tale, and is not some random psychopath that happened by the house, looking for a good kill, as some have predicted.

In this intricate novel, Poirot must not only solve the murder at hand, but also the possible murder that happened many years ago that this unlucky thirteen-year-old girl witnessed and spoke about, therefore sealing her own doom with the same ugly demise.

I did make some guesses throughout the novel, and the murderer turned out to be one of the characters that I was suspicious of, however I didn’t figure out every piece to the puzzle until the end. It was a great book, fun to read with Halloween being just around the corner, and I would suggest it to those that are interested.

Up next is Parenting Beyond your Capacity by Reggie Joiner and Carey Niewhof. Our church just wrapped up the three week series Parenting Beyond your Capacity, where the authors of this book came and spoke. They handed out this book for free the first week of the series and I am looking forward to reading it. You know…since I’m a parent and all… So far I am about a fourth of the way through it and enjoying it for the most part. I have a feeling it won’t take me long to finish.

With love, Malorie

