My friend, Kim, is the one that motivated me to try the 21 Day Challenge, and now she has done it again. Another blog that she follows has a Dare to… challenge that lasts for six weeks over the holidays. The first week is:

Dare to DIY

Dare to… be thankful!

Take some time making your own DIY Thanksgiving project. It could be a fun Thanksgiving advent calendar, homemade thank-you cards, a banner or something completely unique to share what you are thankful for.

Yes, I did complete a project, but given today’s circumstances, my thankfulness has completely changed.

Today I am simply thankful for nap time!

Jack has been an absolute whining terror today.

I just might be bald by the end of the day.

But thankfully, he is napping right now and I am taking this time not to do the mountain of chores left over from the weekend, but to recharge in the ways that recharge me best, and to sit in silence with my Big God.

Thank you, nap time. I pray you are long and slow.

Now, to tie in the DIY project, nap time helped me out in that regard too. Last week, during two of Jack’s naps I completed two canvases that I plan to keep and hang during the Thanksgiving holidays. I turned to trusty Google to give me inspiration with silly Thanksgiving quotes. After finding a couple that I liked, I planned my drawings from there.

The first is entitled A Christmas Thanksgiving. I’m actually going to give this one to my mom, seeing how she already has her Christmas tree up on November 14th, and had it up almost as early last year. Oh, and don’t mind the wonky photography, these pictures were taken in haste.

The second is a parody of the oh-so-easy-to-parody American Gothic. I am calling this one An American Gothic Thanksgiving. Creative, huh?

To display them, I sophisticatedly hung them on a thumb tack in our foyer.

Not gonna lie, I like ’em.

I know my “artwork” is cartoony and amateur, at best, but they add a little color and fun to our Thanksgiving decor.

Today, they are a wonderful reminder of how productive (or not) nap time can be.

And that how no matter how whiny your one-year-old is in the morning, a good long nap can turn it all around.

Fingers crossed that that’s the case today.

With love, Malorie

