It’s week two of the Dare to… challenge.

Dare to DIY

Dare to… entertain!

Show us your table! Even if you are not hosting Thanksgiving, take this opportunity to make your table look great. Bring out your dishes and napkins and set your table. I promise you that it will make you smile every time you walk by. Get creative and use new things. Or go true DIY and make something totally new.

Well, we are not hosting Thanksgiving at home this year, and as you know, the Elrods have officially kicked out the fall decor in exchange for all things silver and gold…or actually in our case, red and cream. That is so out of character for me, but I have to admit that I haven’t minded it so far because our house feels so cozy with all the Christmas stuff up. It makes me want to start a fire in the fireplace, despite the mild weather.

So! In an effort to be a good sport and blog along with each challenge, I came up with a Christmas table scape to display in our dining room. Hopefully we will be able to enjoy a nice dinner there soon, even if it is just a “date night” at home for the two of us.

  I love date nights at home.

I set the table with my china. I love my china. Every time I use it, which is often, people make comments like, “Oh! You broke out the fancy plates!” or, “You didn’t have to get your fine china out. Now you are going to have to hand wash the dishes. We never use our china.”

Ugh! Who cares if I have to hand wash a few dishes! What is the point of having china if you never use it?

Life is only a party if you make it one. Break out the fine china, people. It’s worth it.

On the plates are fun mixed-matched holiday ribbons and a Christmas ornament. If I wasn’t 9 months pregnant and had the margin to truly host a Christmas party, I would have made personalized ornaments with my guests’ names on them as place holders, and they would have doubled as favors.

[Sigh] Maybe next year.

I made my center piece last week. I love it!

It’s a hidden Mickey. How appropriate, right?

The Mickey Mouse box was given to me by one of Tim’s co-workers. I just stuffed it with garland, put an ornament-filled, glass vase in the center, tucked a few more ornaments and pine cones around it, and voila!

I just love the holidays, don’t you?

Hope you and yours have a Very Merry Turkey Day!

Eat lots. Sleep more.

With love, Malorie

